MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#20
Neil Walker
AVG HR RBI
.269 16 71
Team: NY MetsHt / Wt: 6-3 / 208 NFBC ADP: 238.42
Position: 2BBorn: 9/10/1985 Birthplace: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Bats/Throws: S/R Draft: 1st Round by Pirates (2004)


Latest News
Jan. 29 2:07 PM PT3:07 PM MT4:07 PM CT5:07 PM ET17:07 ET22:07 GMT6:07 3:07 PM MST5:07 PM EST5:37 PM VEN2:07 UAE (+1)4:07 PM CT-Walker has agreed to a $10.55 million, one-year contract with the New York Mets.
Analysis: The agreement, announced Friday, avoided a salary arbitration hearing. Walker batted .269 with 16 homers and 71 RBIs last season for his hometown Pittsburgh Pirates and earned $8 million after losing in arbitration. He was acquired by New York last month for left-hander Jonathon Niese. The agreement was $50,000 under the midpoint between the $11.8 million Walker had asked for in arbitration and the $9.4 million New York had offered.
Dec. 9 3:34 PM PT4:34 PM MT5:34 PM CT6:34 PM ET18:34 ET23:34 GMT7:34 4:34 PM MST6:34 PM EST7:04 PM VEN3:34 UAE (+1)5:34 PM CT-The New York Mets quickly bounced back from losing out on their first choice of second basemen, acquiring Walker from the Pittsburgh Pirates for left-hander Jonathon Niese. The teams agreed to the swap of established big leaguers Wednesday at the winter meetings.
Analysis: The Mets had made it known that they were targeting Ben Zobrist as their No. 1 goal this offseason. But on Tuesday, the All-Star chose the Chicago Cubs and former manager Joe Maddon. The 30-year-old Walker fills the hole created when Daniel Murphy became a free agent after New York lost the World Series. Walker can become a free agent after this season. A Silver Slugger winner in 2014, Walker batted .269 with 16 homers and 71 RBIs last season for the Pirates.
Sep. 24 2:32 PM PT3:32 PM MT4:32 PM CT5:32 PM ET17:32 ET21:32 GMT5:32 2:32 PM MST4:32 PM EST5:02 PM VEN1:32 UAE (+1)4:32 PM CT-Walker had a career-high six RBIs, including a three-run homer, and the Pittsburgh Pirates clinched their third straight playoff berth by beating the Colorado Rockies 13-7 on Wednesday night.
Analysis: Walker also had four hits and is batting .444 in his last eight games.
Sep. 18 1:20 PM PT2:20 PM MT3:20 PM CT4:20 PM ET16:20 ET20:20 GMT4:20 1:20 PM MST3:20 PM EST3:50 PM VEN0:20 UAE (+1)3:20 PM CT-Walker was 2 for 3 on Thursday.
Analysis: Walker is kicking butt with a .316 average in September.
Aug. 21 11:28 AM PT12:28 PM MT1:28 PM CT2:28 PM ET14:28 ET18:28 GMT2:28 11:28 AM MST1:28 PM EST1:58 PM VEN22:28 UAE1:28 PM CT-Walker finished 2 for 4 with a two-run homer in Thursday's win over San Francisco.
Analysis: Walker had been 2 for 17 over his previous four games. The homer was his 13th of the season, 10 less than his career-high total last year.
Aug. 14 12:34 PM PT1:34 PM MT2:34 PM CT3:34 PM ET15:34 ET19:34 GMT3:34 12:34 PM MST2:34 PM EST3:04 PM VEN23:34 UAE2:34 PM CT-Walker went 3 for 5 with a triple and a double in Thursday's 10-5 win at St. Louis.
Analysis: Walker had been hitting .171 over his previous 19 games at Busch Stadium.
July 11 2:36 PM PT3:36 PM MT4:36 PM CT5:36 PM ET17:36 ET21:36 GMT5:36 2:36 PM MST4:36 PM EST5:06 PM VEN1:36 UAE (+1)4:36 PM CT-Walker went 3 for 4 with his seventh home run in Friday's 5-2 win over St. Louis.
Analysis: Walker is batting .407 with three homers, four doubles and 11 RBIs over his last 13 games.
July 3 8:41 AM PT9:41 AM MT10:41 AM CT11:41 AM ET11:41 ET15:41 GMT23:41 8:41 AM MST10:41 AM EST11:11 AM VEN19:41 UAE10:41 AM CT-Walker had his second straight four-hit game for Pittsburgh and drove in three runs Thursday.
Analysis: Walker went 10-for-17 in the series with seven RBIs, raising his batting average from .257 to .278 in the process. "No one knows what gets Walk into these streaks - if we did, we would keep pushing the button," manager Clint Hurdle said. "But if you look at the back of his gum card, you will see that he keeps doing this."
July 2 11:27 AM PT12:27 PM MT1:27 PM CT2:27 PM ET14:27 ET18:27 GMT2:27 11:27 AM MST1:27 PM EST1:57 PM VEN22:27 UAE1:27 PM CT-Walker homered twice, including a two-run shot in a five-run third, and the Pittsburgh Pirates beat the Detroit Tigers 9-3 on Wednesday night.
Analysis: Walker also had a pair of singles to boost his average to .268. He's 10 for 21 (.476) in his past five games.
June 9 12:07 PM PT1:07 PM MT2:07 PM CT3:07 PM ET15:07 ET19:07 GMT3:07 12:07 PM MST2:07 PM EST2:37 PM VEN23:07 UAE2:07 PM CT-Walker was 3 for 4 with his 16th double of the season Monday versus Milwaukee.
Analysis: Walker is hitting .315 with nine RBIs over his last 13 games.
May 29 1:23 PM PT2:23 PM MT3:23 PM CT4:23 PM ET16:23 ET20:23 GMT4:23 1:23 PM MST3:23 PM EST3:53 PM VEN0:23 UAE (+1)3:23 PM CT-Walker was 3 for 5 and scored two runs Thursday at San Diego.
Analysis: Walker is hitting .263 with an unimpressive .392 slugging percentage.
Apr. 27 1:42 PM PT2:42 PM MT3:42 PM CT4:42 PM ET16:42 ET20:42 GMT4:42 1:42 PM MST3:42 PM EST4:12 PM VEN0:42 UAE (+1)3:42 PM CT-Walker went 3 for 4 with a double and two RBIs in Sunday's win in Arizona.
Analysis: Walker has a nine-game hitting streak, but he hadn't seen great improvement in his average until the last three. The 7-for-12 stretch includes four doubles and has him up to .300.
Apr. 11 3:35 PM PT4:35 PM MT5:35 PM CT6:35 PM ET18:35 ET22:35 GMT6:35 3:35 PM MST5:35 PM EST6:05 PM VEN2:35 UAE (+1)5:35 PM CT-Walker was 3 for 5 with two doubles Friday at Milwaukee.
Analysis: Walker is 5 for 16 with three doubles in four games.
Feb. 7 1:47 PM PT2:47 PM MT3:47 PM CT4:47 PM ET16:47 ET21:47 GMT5:47 2:47 PM MST4:47 PM EST5:17 PM VEN1:47 UAE (+1)3:47 PM CT-Walker is getting a raise, just not the one he wanted.
Analysis: An arbitration panel sided Saturday with the Pirates in their case against Walker, who was seeking a pay bump to $9 million in 2015. The 29-year-old Walker will instead receive $8 million. He made $5.75 million last year. Walker led all National League second baseman with a career-best 23 home runs in 2014. Walker hit .271 with 76 RBIs in 137 games for the Pirates, who claimed a second straight wild-card berth.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2009 Pit 17 36 5 7 1 0 0 0 4 11 1 0 .194 .275 .222
2010 Pit 110 426 57 126 29 3 12 66 34 83 2 3 .296 .349 .462
2011 Pit 159 596 76 163 36 4 12 83 54 112 9 6 .273 .334 .408
2012 Pit 129 472 62 132 27 0 14 69 47 104 7 5 .280 .342 .426
2013 Pit 133 478 62 120 24 4 16 53 50 85 1 2 .251 .339 .418
2014 Pit 137 512 74 139 25 3 23 76 45 88 2 2 .271 .342 .467
2015 Pit 151 543 69 146 32 3 16 71 44 110 4 1 .269 .328 .427
Career 836 3063 405 833 174 17 93 418 278 593 26 19 .272 .338 .431

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Pit Total 6 24 1 2 1 0 0 1 2 5 0 0 .083 .154 .125
    WC 1 5 1 2 1 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 .400 .400 .600
    LDS 5 19 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 5 0 0 .000 .095 .000
2014 Pit Total 1 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WC 1 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 Pit Total 1 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WC 1 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 8 31 1 2 1 0 0 1 2 9 0 0 .065 .121 .097


w11 © 2016 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.